Much like the last post, I am, in fact, still alive.

And still writing. Though we wound up in Canada somehow, and it looks like we’re here to stay.

First order of business, though: I put Thorn back up. I gave it a re-read over the winter holidays, and while there’s some serious schlock, there’s also some seriously good writing there, and based on feedback/awards that came while it was still in the writing, and the simple fact that it got me started writing seriously, I suppose it deserves its place back in the light of day, so to speak.

A couple months ago I printed out everything written since Thorn as a sort of, “What the hell have I been doing with my time?” exercise, and it was a lot more than I’d imagined. One full manuscript (longer than Thorn), another partial about half the length, along with a couple more false starts that ran on too long before I wisely shitcanned ’em.

That said, it’s been a rough few years for a whole host of reasons, but I’m pleased to say I have a very solid outline for the book, whose working title is The Warden, and for the first time in at least a couple years, I’m genuinely excited to get cracking–once this spinal injury works itself out and I can type comfortably for more than ten minutes at a time.

People always ask what it’s about when they discover I’m a writer, and my fumbling reply is usually something along the lines of, “Well, it’s a literary novel set in a post-fantasy setting,” or, “It’s a literary fantasy-western set in a low-magic time period roughly reminiscent of the late 1800s or early 1900s.” Mainly, however, it’s the story of a woman who’s seen too much conflict.

Cover art teaser by the wonderfully talented VijVij.

That’s all I’ve got to report right now, unless anyone wanted some Formula 1 discussion.

Anyone?

-Mozu

This entry was posted in Fiction, IRL, Mozu. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

